May 16, 2019

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Galveston District Attn: BBTRS P.O. Box 1229 Galveston, TX 77553-1229

Dear Sir/Madam:

On behalf of the Barker Flood Prevention advocacy group, thank you for the opportunity to provide community input for the Buffalo Bayou and Tributaries Resiliency Study meeting held on April 30. We were pleased with the turnout and hope it will yield valuable feedback.

Our steering committee members also attended, and after careful consideration, have adopted the following recommendations:

- Limit the Barker Reservoir flood pool to the current government owned land.
- 2. Increase conveyance out of the Barker and Addicks Reservoirs. Solutions we support include flood tunnel(s), diversion channels, channel improvements and/or bypass.
- 3. Improve and restore channel conveyance and capacity upstream and downstream of Barker Reservoir and within the reservoir, including dredging, desilting and de-snagging.
- 4. Add capacity within Barker and Addicks Reservoirs through select excavation in the reservoirs. (Ex. 737-acre project that has been presented to the Corps located due east of Canyon Gate in the Cinco Ranch Area.)
- 5. Add intermediate detention/retention capacity upstream and downstream of Barker and Addicks Reservoirs.
- 6. Build infrastructure through a combination of viable solutions to manage Cypress Creek overflow to prevent Cypress Creek runoff from adversely impacting the Barker and Addicks watersheds.
- 7. Do not increase the Barker Reservoir flood pool by extending spillways.
- 8. Do not destroy existing neighborhoods, schools and businesses via large scale buyouts.

Barker Flood Prevention has a membership and support base of more than 600 people. We expect that the Corps can rely on this substantial support base in addition to our steering committee and leadership when considering and valuing these recommendations.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss these further with you.

Yours sincerely,

Marlin Williford and Wendy Duncan Founding Partners Barker Flood Prevention

Steering Committee Members:

John Barrett, David Clark, Libby Clark, Chancie Davis, Susana Dias, Patrick Friend, Tim Miller, James Uhl, Erich Schroeder, Jay Wheeler